Overconfidence will get you choked

I was sparring with one of my teachers. We rolled into an open guard with me between his legs going for a smash pass. He grabbed my collars and went for the same choke he regularly uses. My reaction was oh hell no, not today. And by Harry I was able to defend the choke. What I did next was not smart. Me saying this out loud:

I’m not going to give you that today.

His reply was basically a challenge accepted. Well, he sweeped me over and used that same choke from the mount.

Yeah, turns out sometimes one should just keep one’s mouth shut.

Leave a Reply

