Do the fireman

I was sparring the other day with one of our blue belts. He was being very active and had me in turtle guard. Unfortunately for him I had a hold of his arm. I decided to try sweep him over with the fireman’s carry takedown, which is totally possible from the turtle guard.

I go for the leg and lift.

And we fall down. Into a totally different direction which I had intended to go. And he gets the side mount instead of me.

Mental note, not a good idea to try the fireman’s carry if you grab the opposing arm and leg. Grab the same side arm and leg.

Leave a Reply

